Talking Dead with Ambrosia: Welcome to the Tombs


Warning: Here be spoilers. If you are familiar with the Talking Dead, you know it talks about the episode that just aired, and since I’m posting here as if I’m in that conversation, clearly I will be talking about the episode.

Oh. Em. Gee. I don’t even know where to start. I’ll have to talk about the episode in general, because so many things came to me during this episode. I don’t even know it I can keep up with the show itself. I really might have to just freestyle this. I apologize in advance because I know I’m going to be all over the place.

Let me start with Carl, and something that Yvette Nicole Brown just brought up, Carl is really becoming a little Governor. One of the best features in great literature (and even in good movies) is the foil. The foil is that character that is pretty much the same as another, or completely opposite but has the same kind of relation to the protagonist. For instance, a pop culture reference that we’ll all know: Pirates of the Caribbean. The two pirates (the character names elude me at the moment), the short guy and the guy with the wooden eye are the foils to the two members of the Royal Navy – you know which ones – the ones that Jack first encounters at the very beginning. Those ones are pretty obvious though. More serious foils are in Jane Eyre. The cousins that she lives with at the beginning, versus the cousins when she leaves Thornfield. Anyway, that’s Carl at the moment. He is the foil to the Governor.

When Rick and the Governor have their meeting in the barn, Herschel and Milton have their bonding moment, because they are clearly each other’s foils, being men of science, in a general sense. Herschel has been Rick’s moral barometer for awhile, and Milton, while not having any influence on the Governor so much, is definitely in contrast to his morality. Milton’s reactions to the Governor are really giveaways for how far off the deep end the Governor is going.  Daryl and Martinez have their little hunting party, share a cig, and really, that’s pretty obvious. SO we just assume that Rick and the Governor are each other’s foils.

 

299160

 

But as this unravels, it’s becoming clear that Carl is truly the mini-Governor. He’s been increasingly cold this entire season, and now he’s all about killing people in cold blood. The discussion with Rick about all the people that Rick didn’t kill and then they came back to kill later – especially given the stretches (Andrew killed your mom? Sure it wasn’t your baby sister? How long until Carl turns his anger on Judith) he comes up with to justify his rage – Carl is really coming across as very psychopathic. He’s shown now that he’ll blatantly lie his ass off to justify his actions. When he says Jody drew on him, it’s an exact parallel to when the Governor returns to Woodbury after the first attack on the prison, and he says that he went there to talk and they fired on him. Then when they bring the bus in at the end, and he’s all “What is this?” I was hearing “What the fuck is this all about, Dad?”  I wanted Rick to be like, “Watch your mouth, boy!”

They just brought up an intersesting point about Shane maybe having more of an influence on Carl than Rick, and while on one hand, I’m sure Carl is just a product of his circumstances, I am inclined to agree. Think back to Season 2 when they had Randy locked up in the barn, and Carl stole Daryl’s gun and was threatening Randy. That was all Shane. Come to think of it, Shane might be the pre-cursor to the Governor.

Speaking of the Governor, seriously, WHERE IS HE?! Is he going to set up shop somewhere else and brainwash more people? This is obviously not the end of him. Will Martinez and Big Silent Black Man turn on him? I wonder if the next season will open with them.

Milton and Andrea. Aw Milton. He’s definitely found a special little place in my heart, and I’m devastated to see him go. When the Governor handed him the knife, I initially thought he would just kill himself, but I guess in a roundabout way, he did. Had he killed himself, he would have left Andrea at the Gov’s mercy. You have to wonder if he knew that he was going to be in this situation, and that’s why he left the pliers there for Andrea. And then Andrea… I feel like we all knew she was going to die, but we weren’t sure if it was going to be at the Gov’s torturous hands, or what was going to happen, and I feel it was both bittersweet and somehow comforting for her to go by her own hand. I honestly don’t know how much more I can say about this topic. It was intense. It was good that in the end it was her and Milton together.

And finally, I want to end with the creepy caller. I do believe this is a summary of something in Revelations, but I’m probably wrong. Either way, the question is, was that a joke or some total religious wackjob?

About Melissa Limasse

| Real name - Yeah right | Location – The State of Being | Worth - $2,425,486 | Education – B.A. Sociology and Psychology, A.As. in Criminal Justice | Single, childless, and completely satisfied with both, Ms. Limasse doesn’t fit into the traditional “female” mold. Most people would say she’s intimidating. Anything that she says here she has most likely already said out loud View all posts by Melissa Limasse

Leave a Reply

